Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Filing opens for town elections

Flat Rock Mayor Bob Staton looks on as Fletcher Councilman Bob Davy studies filing forms. Flat Rock Mayor Bob Staton looks on as Fletcher Councilman Bob Davy studies filing forms.

Two mayors, two town council members and a newcomer were the first five candidates to sign up for office on Monday morning when filing opened for the 2015 municipal elections in Henderson County.

Seeking a third term as Flat Rock mayor, Bob Staton said it would not surprise him if he ran unopposed.

"We don't have too many people scrambling for a nonpaying fulltime job," said the retired attorney, who spends most days at the Village Hall returning calls, writing letters and doing some of the town's legal work.

Laurel Park Mayor Carey O'Cain arrived by 9:30 a.m. to sign up for a second term leading the town on the mountain. Also signing up for reelection were Mills River Councilman Roger Snyder, who has served since the town's founding in 2003, and Bob Davy, who is seeking a fourth on the Fletcher Town Council.

"I just enjoy being on the ground floor of doing things in town," Davy said. "I'd like to keep things basically the same — fiscally conservative and providing good service."

IMG 9995Ginger BrownGinger Brown, a leader in the founding and planning of the Park at Flat Rock, signed up for a seat in District 2. She lives in Highland Lake Village.

She wants to remain focused on park work. "I feel a kinship to Flat Rock," she said.

A redistricting in Flat Rock put incumbents Don Farr and Nick Weedman in District 1. Neither had filed for election in the first hour. Flat Rock District 3 Councilman Jimmy Chandler is not expected to run for reelection. John Dockendorf, owner of Adventure Treks and Camp Pinnacle, is expected to file for Chandler's seat, Staton said. Filing closes at noon Friday, July 17.

Here are the seats up for election and the incumbent:


Steve Caraker and Ron Stephens (no districts, all seats at large).

Flat Rock

Mayor: Bob Staton

District 1: Nick Weedman, Don Farr.

District 2: formerly Farr.

District 3: Jimmy Chandler.


District 2: Hugh Clark

District 3: Bob Davy

Laurel Park

Mayor: Carey O'Cain

Council: George W. Banta, Robert O. "Bob" Vickery (no districts, all seats at large).

Mills River

Council, at large: Roger Snyder

Council, at large: Wayne Carland