Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Commissioners to ratify which advisory boards they'll serve on in 2023-24

Henderson County commissioners are expected to make official their assignments as the Board of Commissioners representative on 30 boards and committees when they meet for the first time in the new year on Tuesday.

Commissioners have reviewed the assignments and agreed to serve on the advisory boards, a county memorandum said. The county charter requires an elected commissioner to serve on most advisory boards (NR denotes not required). Here are the 2023-24 appointments:

1. Agricultural Advisory Board – Rebecca McCall
2. AgHC - Rebecca McCall (NR)
3. Vaya Health Commissioner’s Advisory Committee – Bill Lapsley
4. Environmental Advisory Committee – (NR)
5. Fire and Rescue Advisory Committee – David Hill
6. French Broad River MPO/Transportation Advisory Committee – Rebecca McCall/Bill Lapsley
7. Governmental Financing Corporation - Rebecca McCall/Mike Edney
8. Henderson County Board of Health - Bill Lapsley
9. Henderson County Historic Courthouse Corporation dba/Heritage Museum - Rebecca McCall
10. Henderson County Partnership for Economic Development – Rebecca McCall with Bill Lapsley
as backup (NR)
11. Henderson County Planning Board – Bill Lapsley
12. Henderson County Transportation Advisory Committee - Bill Lapsley/ Rebecca McCall
13. Henderson Tourism Development Authority - (NR)
14. Hendersonville Water & Sewer Advisory Committee - Daniel Andreotta
15. Pardee UNC Health Care Hospital Board of Directors – Mike Edney
16. Joint College Facility Committee - David Hill/Mike Edney
17. Joint School Facilities - David Hill/Mike Edney
18. Juvenile Crime Prevention Council - Mike Edney
19. Land of the Sky Regional Council – Rebeca McCall
20. Library Board of Trustees - Rebecca McCall
21. Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) - Mike Edney
22. Local Government Committee of Cooperative Action (LGCCA) - Rebecca McCall/ Mike Edney
23. Mountain Area Workforce Development Board -
24. MSD Board of Directors – Bill Lapsley
25. North Carolina Association of County Commissioners - Rebecca McCall
26. Nursing/Adult Care Home Community Advisory Committee - Rebecca McCall (NR)
27. Recreation Advisory Board – David Hill
28. Rescue Squad Board of Directors – David Hill
29. Social Services Board – Rebecca McCall (NR)
30. Wall of Fame Steering Committee – (NR)