Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Etowah Lions, Farm Bureau announce candidate forums

The Etowah Lions Club and the Henderson County Farm Bureau have announced campaign forums for all five candidates running for two seats on the Henderson County Board of Commissioners.

In the March 5 Republican primary, Fletcher Town Council member Sheila Franklin is challenging incumbent Daniel Andreotta for the District 2 seat while School Board Chair Jay Egolf is challenging incumbent David Harold Hill in District 5. Democrat Erik Weber of Fletcher faces the District 2 Republican nominee in the Nov. 5 general election. Candidates must live in the district but are elected countywide.

Here are the details of upcoming forums:

  • The Etowah Lions Club is hosting a candidate forum for Board of Commissioners candidates at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 23, at the Lions Den, 447 Etowah School Road, Etowah. Organizers of Preserve Etowah Valley plan to livestream the forum on Facebook.
  • The Henderson County Republican Party is hosting the Frostbite Family Festival and meet-and-greet for 2024 candidates 4-7:30 p.m. Saturday, Jan 27, at Burning Blush Brewing Co., 4891 Boylston Highway, Mills River.
  • The Henderson County Farm Bureau will host a forum at 6 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 6, at Steve Wyatt Auditorium in the Patton Building at Blue Ridge Community College. Questions will cover agricultural topics.

  • County Commission District 5 incumbent David Hill and challenger Jay Egolf are scheduled to appear at the Republican Men’s Club meeting at 9 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 10, at the American Legion Post 77, 216 Fourth Avenue West. 

Voting deadlines

The deadline to register to vote or change party affiliation for the March 5 primary is Friday, Feb. 9.

The Henderson County Board of Elections, 75 E. Central St., is the only early voting site for the March 5 primary. Early voting opens Thursday, Feb. 15, and closes Saturday, March 2. Hours are 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m. weekdays, 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 24, and 8 a.m.-3 p.m. Saturday, March 2.

Here are deadlines voters need to know for the March 5 primary election:

  • Absentee voting by mail begins: Friday, Jan. 19.
  • Voter registration and party change deadline: Friday, Feb. 9.
  • Early voting begins: Thursday, Feb. 15.
  • Last day to request an absentee ballot by mail: 5 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 27.
  • Early voting ends: 3 p.m. Saturday, March 2.
  • Last day to return an absentee ballot by mail: 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 5.
  • Primary election: 6:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 5.
  • County canvass: 11 a.m. Friday, March 15.

Here are the candidates for municipal seats, Board of Commissioners, N.C. General Assembly and District Court.

March 5 primary


  • 11th Congressional District, Chuck Edwards, R
  • 11th Congressional District, Christian Reagan, R
  • County Commissioner District 2, Daniel Andreotta, R
  • County Commissioner District 2, Sheila Franklin, R
  • County Commissioner District 5, Jay Egolf, R
  • County Commissioner District 5, David Harold Hill, R
  • School Board, Amy Lynn Holt, R
  • School Board, Robert Bridges, R
  • School Board, Michael Absher, R
  • School Board, Kathy G. Revis, R

  • School Board, Tae Brown, R
  • School Board, Beth Campbell, R



Nov. 5 general election

  • Flat Rock Mayor, Anne Guerard Coletta
  • Flat Rock District 1, Thomas F. Carpenter
  • Flat Rock District 3, Cheryl Stuller


  • Laurel Park Mayor, Carey O'Cain
  • Laurel Park Town Council, George Banta
  • Laurel Park Town Council, Travis Bonnema


  • County Commissioner District 2, Erik Weber, D


  • Hendersonville City Council, Jennifer Hensley
  • Hendersonville City Council, Lyndsey N. Simpson
  • Hendersonville City Council, DJ Harrington
  • Hendersonville City Council (unexpired term), Lynne Elizabeth Williams
  • Hendersonville City Council (unexpired term),Colby Coren
  • Hendersonville City Council (unexpired term), Gina Baxter


  • Fletcher Town Council District 2, Keith Reed
  • Fletcher Town Council District 3, James Player


  • Mills River Town Council at large, Jeff Moore
  • Mills River Town Council at large, Tiffany Councill
  • Mills River Town Council at large, Jeff Young
  • Mills River Town Council at large, Jim Foster
  • Mills River Town Council at large, Brian Kimball
  • School Board, Mary Ellen Kustin, D

  • School Board, Leslie Carey, D

  • School Board, Crystal Cauley, D
  • School Board, Rhonda Mountain D
  • NC Senate District 48, Timothy Moffitt, R
  • NC Senate District 48, Chris Walters, D


  • NC House District 113, Jake Johnson, R
  • NC House District 113, Michelle Antalec, D


  • NC House District 117, Jennifer Capps Balkcom, R
  • NC House District 117, Steve Martinez, D


  • District Court Judge Seat 1, James Marshall, R
  • District Court Judge Seat 2, Gene Johnson, R
  • District Court Judge Seat 3, Monica Jean Gillett, R

  • District Court Judge Seat 4, Kim Gasperson Justice, R