AgHC - Buy Here Grow Here

Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Flat Rock has contested elections for three seats

For the first time in recent memory, Flat Rock has contested elections for all three Village Council seats. Candidates filed this week in District 1 and District 3, meaning there are two candidates for each of the seats up for election this fall. The hot issue is the council's vote in 2018 to endorse the Highland Lake Road widening project, which drew strong opposition from village residents.

Related Stories


Barbara Platz of Little River Road filed to run against Thomas Carpenter in District 1 while Hilton Swing of Chanteloup Drive filed to run against David Dethero in District 3. Along with Anne Coletta, Carpenter and Dethero filed on the first day of election qualifying. The three are aligned with Cultural Landscape Group: Flat Rock, an organization that formed to oppose the Highland Lake Road widening project.

Meanwhile, three candidates have now filed in District 2 in Fletcher: incumbent Hugh Clark and challengers Preston Blakely
and Julia Price-Fogel.

The filing period ends at noon Friday.

Here's the list of candidates who have filed:


Debbie Roundtree
Steven A. Caraker *
Jennifer Hensley
Lyndsey Simpson

Incumbent Ron Stephens is not seeking re-election.


Flat Rock

Nick Weedman

District 1
Thomas Carpenter
District 2
Anne Coletta
Ginger Brown *
District 3
David Dethero

Incumbent mayor Robert Staton is not seeking re-election.


District 2
Preston Blakely
Hugh Clark
Julia Price-Fogel

District 3
Bob Davy *

Laurel Park


Carey O'Cain *


George Banta *
Robert Vickery *

Mills River

Roger Snyder *
Wayne S. Carland *
Randy Austin
John E. Case
Mark V. Case

* denotes incumbent