Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

McGrady resigns; GOP expected to name Moffitt to his seat

State Rep. Chuck McGrady made it official on Thursday when he resigned from the state House after five terms in order to assume his new role as a member of the state Board of Transportation.


McGrady notified Gov. Roy Cooper of his resignation on Thursday, saying it has been "an honor and privilege to serve the citizens of Henderson County" since January 2011. The resignation is effective at noon Monday, a short while before McGrady plans to take the oath for the Transportation Board seat before District Court Judge Kim Gasperson-Justice. He will attend his first transportation board meeting as a member next Wednesday and Thursday.

The Republican Party's executive committee for District 117, which meets next Thursday, is expected to appoint Tim Moffitt, the Republican nominee for the seat, to replace McGrady.

The District 117 Committee is made up of elected officials and officers from the 25 precincts that make up the district, which covers central and northern Henderson County. The Republican Party nominated Jake Johnson to fill the seat vacated by state Rep. Cody Henson in 2019 and named Daniel Andreotta to assume the Board of Commissioners seat made vacant by the death of five-term Commissioner Charlie Messer in July.