Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Pardee announces four new board members

Robert Bryant, M.D., Marilyn Gordon, Carol Ann Larimore and Laura Leatherwood, Ed.D., have joined the 15-member board of directors of UNC Health Pardee, the hospital announced. The four new members begin their terms in July and will serve for three years through 2026.

Dr. Bryant has been an emergency and urgent care physician at UNC Health Pardee since 2013. Prior to coming to Hendersonville, Dr. Bryant worked for more than 15 years in Chicago and the surrounding area in a wide variety of clinical settings, from small, rural critical care access hospitals to large university-based hospitals. He currently serves with a local non-profit to improve local youth's physical and mental health through sports. He spends his free time cycling the trails and roads of Western North Carolina and working to build trails in his community.
Marilyn Gordon has long been a fixture of Henderson County. Her family has owned and operated Norm’s Minit Marts in Hendersonville since 1980. Her service as a county commissioner years ago helped her come to understand the value of the county hospital and the importance of keeping it strong. She looks forward to being a part of ensuring that this care continues and is available for everyone Pardee serves.
Born and raised in New Jersey, Larimore has called Henderson County home for 22 years. She had a 44-year career in health care beginning as a registered nurse working in the operating room and emergency department with various healthcare organizations across the country. She earned a graduate degree in healthcare administration and worked as a chief nursing officer, chief operating officer, and chief executive officer. After leaving hospital operations, she worked as a s field representative for The Joint Commission, surveying hospitals throughout the U.S. for quality care based on national standards of practice.
Dr. Leatherwood has served since 2017 as the fourth president of Blue Ridge Community College. Prior to being named president, she served for 17 years in various roles at Haywood Community College. In her current role, Leatherwood is afforded the opportunity to work and advocate for higher education at the local, regional, state and national levels with the American Association of Community Colleges. She serves as president of the N.C. Association of Community College Presidents and was named 2022 President of the Year for North Carolina Community College System. She spends much of her time working on behalf of many other nonprofit organizations.
The board also elected a new executive committee, naming Tammy Albrecht, board chair; Debbie Bell, vice chair; Hall Waddell, treasurer; and Jimmy Chandler, secretary.