Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Athena Award nominees announced

The Henderson County Chamber of Commerce announced a dozen nominees for the 10th Annual Athena Award presented in memory of Vanessa Y. Mintz by Pardee Hospital, Morris Broadband and Judy Stroud/State Farm Insurance.

The 2017 nominees are Tanya Blackford, Alice Cochran, Joanne Helppie, Lynn Killian, Denise Medved, Elizabeth Moss, Dot Moyer, Roxanna Pepper, Paige Posey, Amanda Stansbury, Hollie Storrier and Fair Nabers Waggoner.

The nominees will be honored at a reception presented by Judy Stroud and State Farm Insurance on Tuesday, May 2. The winner will be announced at the Business and Professional Women’s Luncheon on Wednesday, May 10, at Kenmure Country Club. The Athena Award honors individuals who strive toward the highest levels of personal and professional accomplishment, who excel in their chosen field, devote time and energy to their community in a meaningful way, and forge paths of leadership for other women to follow. The award is co-sponsored by the Henderson County Chamber of Commerce.

For more information on the ATHENA Award or to make your reservation to the Business and Professional Women’s Luncheon, please call the Chamber at 828-692-1413.