Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Municipal elections feature just two contested races

The November ballot for municipal offices will feature just two contested seats.


A political newcomer who called herself a "Mrs. Smith goes to Washington" filed for the Hendersonville City Council on Wednesday, setting up a contested race for two seats in which the incumbents also have filed.

All but two incumbents in 13 seats have filed for re-election in Hendersonville, Flat Rock, Laurel Park, Fletcher and Mills River and so far only Hendersonville and Flat Rock have contested races. Bob Spitzen, of Robert E. Lee Drive, filed to run against Flat Rock Mayor Bob Staton, who is running for re-election.

In Hendersonville, Rebecca Elizabeth Schwartz, of Eringhaus Street, filed for City Council, joining incumbents Ron Stephens and Steve Caraker. The top two vote getters win council seats. A widow who lost her husband to a brain tumor, Schwartz, 43, said she wanted to get involved in the community where she plans to raise her children. She's lived in Hendersonville for six years.

"I have found myself disenchanted as of late not only federal government-wise, local government," she said, "and I think that someone coming in with completely fresh eyes and with no experience, especially if they're a quick learner and sort of the everyman candidate with some common sense, I think that's the niche that I would fill, as opposed to the gentleman that have been in office for a few terms. Sometimes a fresh set of eyes or ideas can shake things up a little bit and I think that's how change comes about."

The Flat Rock Village Council will have two newcomers. Jimmy Chandler and Don Farr, who ended up in the same district as incumbent Nick Weedman after the council redrew the boundaries, are not seeking re-election. Ginger Brown and John Dockendorf have filed for council seats. Filing closes at noon Friday.
Here are the seats up for election and the incumbent (i denotes incumbent). Incumbents listed have filed for re-election unless noted.


Steve Caraker (i), Ron Stephens (i), Rebecca Elizabeth Schwartz (no districts, all seats at large).

Flat Rock

Mayor: Bob Staton (i), Bob Spitzen.
District 1: Nick Weedman (i), Don Farr (not running).
District 2: Ginger Brown.
District 3: Jimmy Chandler (i) (not running). John Dockendorf.


District 2: Hugh Clark (i).
District 3: Bob Davy (i).

Laurel Park

Mayor: Carey O'Cain (i)
Council (no districts, all seats at large): George W. Banta (i), Robert O. "Bob" Vickery (i)

Mills River

Council, at large: Roger Snyder (i)
Council, at large: Wayne Carland (i)