Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Flat Rock will have new mayor, Hendersonville a female council member

Nick Weedman, right, will replace Bob Staton as mayor of Flat Rock in December. Nick Weedman, right, will replace Bob Staton as mayor of Flat Rock in December.

Flat Rock will have a new mayor for the first time in 12 years, Hendersonville will have at least one new City Council member — and it will be a woman, to join Mayor Barbara Volk — and only Fletcher will have a primary on Oct. 8.

That was the outcome when filing closed for the 2019 municipal elections on Friday.

Three candidates filed in District 2 in Fletcher, forcing a primary involving incumbent Hugh Clark and challengers Preston Blakely and Julia Price-Fogel.

Barring the remote chance of a write-in campaign, Vice mayor Nick Weedman moves up to mayor in Flat Rock, having drawn no opposition when he filed for the office. In Hendersonville, incumbent Steve Caraker faces challengers Jennifer Hensley, Debbie Roundtree and Lyndsey Simpson.

Here's the list of candidates:

Hendersonville (2 seats)

Debbie Roundtree
Steven A. Caraker *
Jennifer Hensley
Lyndsey Simpson

Incumbent Ron Stephens is not seeking re-election.

Flat Rock

Nick Weedman **

District 1
Thomas Carpenter
Barbara Platz

District 2
Anne Coletta
Ginger Brown *

District 3
David Dethero
Hilton Swing



District 2
Preston Blakely
Hugh Clark *
Julia Price-Fogel


District 3
Bob Davy * **

Laurel Park


Carey O'Cain * **


George Banta *  **
Robert Vickery * **

Mills River

Roger Snyder *
Wayne S. Carland *
Randy Austin
John E. Case
Mark V. Case



Leon Morgan *
Bob Ross
Stanley Walker *


* Incumbent

** Elected without opposition (barring successful write-in candidate)