Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Miller announces endorsement of Wayne King for Congress

Jeff Miller, the Hendersonville City Council member, president of HonorAir Inc. and Co-Founder of the Honor Flight Network, on Thursday announced his endorsement of Wayne King for the Republican nomination for North Carolina’s 11th Congressional District.


“Wayne King is the only candidate who has actually fought for thousands of our WNC veterans, senior citizens, families and small business owners like me against Washington bureaucracy,” Miller, who was the 2010 Republican nominee for the 11th Congressional District. “Experience counts. Others tell you what they would do. Wayne has spent the past seven years doing it. His success can be measured by the sheer number of people in our area he has helped. I’m proud to endorse him for Congress.”

“I’m honored and humbled to have the endorsement of Jeff Miller,” King said. “Jeff is a tireless advocate for our veterans and our military as well as strong leader for the people of Hendersonville. It’s been my honor to fight for Western North Carolina veterans, seniors, families and small business owners for the last 7 years, and I’m looking forward to continuing to fight on their behalf in Congress. They are the unsung heroes who make America great.”

King is a Western North Carolina native and former Vice-Chair of the NCGOP. He has served the past seven years as Congressman Meadows' Deputy Chief of Staff and District Director.

The endorsement Councilman Miller comes on the heels of endorsements from the following Republican notables:

Tea Party Express
Students for Trump
Former GOP presidential candidate and United States Senator Rick Santorum
State Rep. Michele Presnell
Greg Newman, District Attorney for Henderson, Polk and Transylvania counties
Avery County Sheriff Kevin Frye
Retired Buncombe County Sheriff Van Duncan
Graham County Sheriff Joseph Jones
Henderson County Sheriff Lowell Griffin
McDowell County Sheriff Ricky Buchanan
Mitchell County Sheriff Donald Street
Rutherford County Sheriff Chris Francis
Transylvania County Sheriff David Mahoney
Yancey County Sheriff Gary Banks
Graham County Register of Deeds Carolyn Stewart
Avery County Commission Chairwoman Martha Hicks
Transylvania County Commissioner Jason Chappell
Yancey County Commissioner David Grindstaff
Yancey County Commissioner Mark Ledford
Yancey County Commissioner Jeff Whitson
Banner Elk Mayor Brenda Lyerly
Spruce Pine Mayor Darla Harding
Woodfin Mayor and Former Buncombe County Emergency Services Director Jerry VeHaun
Henderson County School Board Member Amy Lynn Holt
Major Frank Stout, Henderson County Sheriff’s Department
Former State Senator Keith Presnell (Avery, Haywood, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell and Yancey Counties)
Former State Rep. Phillip Frye (Mitchell, Yancey and Avery counties)
Former State Rep. Chris Whitmire (Henderson, Transylvania, and Polk counties)