Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Health Department reaccredited with honors

The Henderson County Department of Public Health was recently awarded reaccreditation status with honors by the North Carolina Local Health Department Accreditation Board.

Henderson County underwent a successful reaccreditation process, required by all health departments every four years in North Carolina, to assure appropriate capacity and required services. Henderson County was among 11 agencies to earn the “with honors” distinction, which recognizes agencies that excelled in their assessment by missing one or fewer activities within each of the five standards set by the NCLHDA program.

“Achieving reaccreditation with honors exemplifies the dedication and hard work of the Henderson County Board of Health and our public health staff to provide quality services and support for our residents,” Health Director Steve Smith said. “Through reaccreditation, we demonstrate our continued commitment to promote, protect and advance the health and wellness of our community.”

The process of accreditation includes three major components – a self-assessment completed by the agency, a site visit by a multidisciplinary team of peers to review performance standards and determination of accreditation status by an independent accreditation board comprised of state and local public health officials, board of health members, county commissioners and public members.

“All of the agencies recently achieving reaccreditation have much to be proud of,” said Amy Belflower Thomas, N.C. Local Health Department Accreditation Administrator. “They have not only demonstrated their ability to meet a set of important performance standards, but excelled in many areas. Through reaccreditation, these agencies demonstrate a strong commitment to continuously work to improve the quality of services provided to their respective communities.”

North Carolina is the first state in the country to mandate accreditation for its local health departments. Henderson County will hold its accreditation with honors status for the next four years before the next cycle takes place.