Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

County completes Farmland Preservation Task Force appointments

Henderson County commissioners on Wednesday filled the last few seats on the 13-member Farmland Preservation Task Force and appointed county commission Chair Rebecca McCall and Commissioner David Hill as co-chairs.

Other members and the boards or agencies they represent are Hunter Marks, Planning Board; Danny McConnell, Soil & Water Conservation; Joffrey Merrill, Agribusiness Henderson County; Gary Steiner, NC Cooperative Extension Service; Jimmy Cowan, N.C. Farm Bureau Federation; Randy Newman, Hendersonville Board of Realtors; and, at large, Jason Edney, Justin Patwin, Linda Odom Pryor, Alan Ward and Danielle Stepp McCall.

Commissioners also adopted the charter and bylaws for the advisory board, which holds its first meeting on May 13.

Meanwhile, farmers independently have organized a Farmland Preservation Learning Session at 5:30 p.m. Thursday, April 25, art Saint Paul Mountain Vineyards, 732 Chestnut Gap Road.

Noting that North Carolina ranks second in the nation in projected loss of farmland to commercial and residential development, organizers said farmers will "hear from professionals in the industry that are working to prevent this catastrophic loss and learn about that options that are available to preserve farmland for the future."