Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

School Board salutes top students

Andrew Wells, a Hendersonville High School senior who has already won a Morehead-Cain scholarship to UNC at Chapel Hill, was recognized at Monday's School Board meeting as a National Merit Scholarship winner.

Wells was chosen among a pool of more than 15,000 finalists. Scholarship winners, who receive $2,500, are judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success.

Other recognitions during Monday's School Board were:

• Tyler Bice, a senior at West Henderson, and Emily Stanley, at senior at Hendersonville, National Merit finalists.

• Sieara Bishop, a senior at West, special National Merit scholarship.

• Cooper Mertens and Maggie Rollins, second place, Joshua Morrow, honorable mention, Western Region Math Fair.

• Jorecca Dinnall, an East Henderson senior, Boys and Girls Club Youth of the Year in North Carolina.

• Governor's School East: Ada Morava, East Henderson, math; Jordan T. Tripp, EHHS, instrumental music, tuba; Zoe R. Holmes, Hendersonville, French; Andrew W. Legg, HHS, social science.

• Governor's School West: Sarah A. Boyette, HHS, English; Monique E. LaBorde, HHS, Spanish; Mallory L. Carnes, West Henderson, instrumental music, viola; Zachary L. Younger, WHHS, math.

• The Gorillas Robotics Team, Haley Brazell, Bethany Cook, Ally Benson, Ti Benson, Renecca Donovan, Jaylen Edwards, Zach Fearnside, Billy Freeman, Matthew Gillette, Redi Gudger, Alex Hardison, Ashley Heywood, Patrick Jennings, J.T. Jones, Reid Marsh, Marshall Murphy, Mitchell Murphy, Kyle Sparger, Brianna Stallings, Jessie Stallings, Justin Uy-Camp, Amelia Ward.

• East Henderson Air Force JROTC, distinguished award, led by Lt. Col. Rod Clark. MSgt. Michael Jensen, who also was selected as outstanding instructor with merit.

• Scott Ashcraft, Hendersonville High School, six-time All-State Honors Band (trombone).

• Rachel Stertzbach and Sarah Stertzbach, Hannah Grace Lemacks, Alexis Morse, Rugby Middle School, Science Olympiad winners.

• Hendersonville High School Symphonic Band, honors band at national Festival of Gold: Nicholas Stoker, flute, Hailey Kater, flute, Zachary Fearnside, flute, Kelly Jackson, flute, Alex Cantwell, clarinet, Kevin Foster, bass clarinet, Heather Eddy, tenor sax, John Jackson, bari sax, Peter Lampley, French horn, Melissa Moss, trumpt, Adam Howell, trumpet, Seth Alexander, trumpet, Scott Ashcraft, trombone, Brice Molton, trombone, Alston Rikard, baritone, and Cavon Scott, percussion.


• Annie Jones, Dana Elementary, and Cara Vaughn, Glenn C. Marlow Elementary, Kenan Fellows for curriculum and leadership development.

• Julie Conn, K-5 autism teacher at Sugarloaf Elementary, recognized by Microsoft as one of 44 educators from 15 states using technology in innovative ways in the classroom.