Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Area students win service academy nominations

A Hendersonville High School student and home school students from Flat Rock and Saluda are among 10 high school seniors from the 11th Congressional District nominated for military service academy appointments.

U.S. Rep. Mark Meadows will host a reception for the nominees and their families on Thursday in Hendersonville.

Each member of Congress may nominate a limited number of constituents to the United States Service Academies. The honor of attending a service academy comes with an obligation and commitment to serve in the military for a minimum of five years upon graduation.

The nominees include:

United States Air Force Academy

Michael Silva, Hendersonville
Hendersonville High School

Logan Mark Lueck, Leicester
A.C. Reynolds High School

Joseph Woody, Hayesville
Hayesville High School

United States Naval Academy

Madison Cawthorn, Flat Rock

Tucker Epperson, Saluda

Gregory Lloyd, on active duty in the Pacific
Murphy High School

Nathan Rennard, Asheville

Abby Taylor, Nebo
McDowell High School

United States Military Academy at West Point

Kyle Church, Weaverville
North Buncombe High School

T.J. Stewart, Morganton
Robert L. Patton High School