Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

HCT announces honors for 2018 season

Hendersonville Community Theatre announced winners of the 15th Annual Barnie Awards on March 2 at the Mountain Lodge and Convention Center in Flat Rock.

Artistic Director Colby Coren hosted this year’s show. One hundred actors, volunteers and members attended.
HCT’s staff, board and familiar faces presented and performed, including Sage Albert, Facilities Director Tate Albert, Jaylan Brinson, Development Director McKenzie Eury, Executive Producer Jonathan Forrester, board member Laresa Griffin, Alexander Guazzo, Operations Director Janice Guazzo, President Chuck Kelsey, Managing Director Victoria Lamberth, board member Lisa McCarthy, Casting Coordinator Jennifer Memolo, Bob Pompeo, Technical Director Bob Reece and Charlene Spinks.
Longtime member and Box Office Manager Sue Kamerick and Executive Producer Beth Bristol presented actor and volunteer Henry Styron with the Spotlight Award for outstanding service to HCT. Leslie Jean Newell was honored with the Lifetime Membership Award, making her an HCT member and giving her free season tickets for her lifetime.

Originally established in 2004, the Hendersonville Community Theatre presented the first Barnie Awards in January 2004 for the 2003 season. Each year, the festive gala honors thespians, producers, directors, and theater lovers for their work the previous season.

The 15th Annual Barnie Award winners are:

Best Overall Production
Hairspray Jr.

People’s Choice Award
Hairspray Jr.

Best Director
Colby Coren, Tasha Pepi and Lenora Thom, Hairspray Jr.

Best Leading Actor in a Comedy or Drama
Rick Huhn, Weller Martin, The Gin Game

Best Leading Actor in a Musical
Craig Conner, Nathan Detroit, Guys and Dolls

Best Actress in a Comedy or Drama
Shari Azar, Margaret, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

Best Leading Actress in a Musical
Celia Butterworth, Tracy Turnblad, Hairspray Jr.

Best Actress in a Junior Production
Chloe Ostman, Motormouth Maybelle, Hairspray Jr.

Best Actor in a Junior Production
Alexander Guazzo, Edna Turnblad, Hairspray Jr.

Best Youth Actor or Actress in a Regular Production
Claire Estes, Gowdee/Soma, The Love Talker/A Ghost Story
Jayna Gerber, The Redhead, The Love Talker

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy or Drama
Nancy Colangione, Big Mama, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

Best Supporting Actress in a Musical
Madeline Johnson, Benny Southstreet, Guys and Dolls

Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy or Drama
David Mycoff, Big Daddy, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

Best Supporting Actor in a Musical
Colby Coren, Nicely Nicely Johnson, Guys and Dolls

Best Set Design/Dressing
Bobby Foster and Jonathan Forrester, Rumors

Best Lightning Design
Pat Durako, Hairspray Jr.

Best Costumes
Kathleen Henby and Janice Guazzo, Hairspray Jr.

Best Choreography
Molly Carlin-Folk and Jonathan Forrester, Hairspray Jr.

Best Stage Manager
Beth Bristol, Nuncrackers