Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Here are members of the post-Covid reopening panel

A task force studying how to reopen the county for business when the coronavirus lockdown is modified or lifted goes to work on Monday.

The Henderson County Board of Commissioners special subcommittee on post-emergency recovery convenes for the first time at 1:30 p.m. Monday in the board room of the Public Health Department. The Board will consider input from invited participants regarding the recovery from the current state of emergency in Henderson County but will not take public comment.

County commissioners and administrators polled Chamber of Commerce President Bob Williford, Partnership for Economic Development President Brittany Brady and Tourism Development Authority Executive Director Beth Carden for nominations to fill about 20 seats on the advisory board.

"We're trying to cover all the groups that have been directly affected," said Bill Lapsley, who is leading the task force along with fellow commissioner Rebecca McCall. "We're thinking of the ones that have had to shut down — hair salons, restaurants, hotels, summer camps, that sort of thing. We've had a lot of good people that are representative of their peers."

All enthusiastically agreed to serve.

"Every one of them," Lapsley said. "Nobody's turned us down. They're open and they want to sit at the table and tell us what's going on and what the commissioners can do to help. I think what the commissioners hope is when the governor decides to open things up that he'll give the county some voice here in what to do. The way we see it, each county has its own unique problems and situation."

Lapsley, McCall and Public Health Director Steve Smith will be on site.

Committee members are:

Steve Dozier, Real Estate (Beverly Hanks)
Bo Caldwell, Henderson County Public Schools

Jeff Justus, Commercial real estate (Southern Homes&Land)
Matt Johnes (Hannah Flanagans)
Mike Wiemers (Surf N' Brew)
Marisa Pharr  (Falliing Creek Camp)
Lori Dorsey (Mast General Store)
Elizabeth Wilson (Blue Ridge Mall)
Caroline Gunther (Wag On-Main St)
Jennifer Hensley (Well-Adjusted Chiropractic)
Chris Hykin, manufacturing (Smartrac)
Carsten Erkel, manufacturing (Elkamet)
Martha Huggins (Hair Gallery)
Jay Kirby (Pardee Hospital)
Don Cobb (Epic Theater)
Mark Williams, agriculture (HC Ag)
Kelly Cubbin (Southern Appalachian Brewery)
Brian Cavagnini, (Meritor)
Rev Steve Scoggins, (Southern Baptist Association, First Baptist Church)
Jimmie Brissie (EMS Director)

Listening only:
Carleen Dixon, (Parks & Rec Director)
Bob Williford (Chamber)
Chuck Edwards (NC Senator, District 48)
Chuck McGrady (NC Representative, District 117)

Beth Carden, (Tourism Development Authority)
Brittany Brady, Economic Development (HCPED)

The committee is staffed by county Planning Director Autumn Radcliff, county planner Matt Champion and county Business and Community Development Director John Mitchell. 

Click here to join the meeting on Monday. The password is 665211.