Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

BRCC nursing graduates pinned in drive-by ceremony

Nursing graduates of Blue Ridge Community College drove through a procession of cheering faculty and staff to celebrate their accomplishments at an unconventional Nurse Pinning Ceremony on Wednesday.

The Nurse Pinning ceremony is a traditional rite of passage each nursing student completes before entering the profession. BRCC pinned 39 students.

The tradition of pinning new nurses began in the 1800’s by bestowing a crest [pin] to symbolize their commitment to the nursing profession and to recognize the successful completion of educational requirements to become a nurse.

“While the pinning ceremony is typically somber and reverent, today’s ceremony was modified to protect the health and safety of our graduates and faculty in the midst of a global pandemic,” said BRCC Dean of Health Sciences Leigh Angel. “Although we couldn’t gather together in a traditional sense to welcome them to the profession of nursing, we were able to shower them with messages of congratulations and encouragement to begin their new journey. This is the Year of the Nurse and we are confident that our graduates are well-prepared to meet the challenges and embrace the joys of nursing.”

Three students received awards as well. Rebekah Bagwell received the Clinical Excellence Award for Henderson County; Elizabeth Bahnson received the Clinical Excellence Award for Transylvania County; and Chastity Harris received the Academic Excellence Award for the Class of 2020.

The following students received pins at the ceremony:

Kriston Alley
Rebekah Bagwell
Elizabeth Bahnson
Michael Bauer
Yareli Castaneda
Diana Castillo
Trudy Chandler
Bonni Dalton
Laura De la Pena
Raymundo Diaz
Savannah Dobbs
Chloe Gilbert
Nealy Gonzalez
Courtney Halford
Chastity Harris
Leslie Haynes
Laura Husak
Andrew Johnson
James Kowalczyk
Kayla Lance
Christa Lindsey
Kealey McDaniels
Brittany Mendoza
Ricardo Montes
Sydney Morgan
Jackie Morrison
Damon Perdue
Ashley Phillips
Hunter Reese
Kayla Reese
Victoria Roberts
Madison Ross
Jesi Seward
Christine Skwara
Amanda Taylor
Samantha Thielke
Eunsuk Weaver
Olivia Whitmire
Kendall Williams