Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

Early voting in runoff election ends Saturday

Early voting ends Saturday in the Republican runoff in the 11th Congressional District

The contest between Republicans Lynda Bennett and Madison Cawthorn is the only runoff election in the state. The winner will face Democrat Moe Davis, Green Party candidate Tamara Zwinak and Libertarian Tracey DeBruhl in the Nov. 3 general election.
All registered Republicans, unaffiliated voters who either did not vote in the March primary or voted a Republican ballot in the primary are eligible to vote.
In-person early voting is 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. through Friday and 8 a.m.-3 p.m. Saturday. The only one-stop early voting location is at the Board of Elections office, 75 E. Central St.
On Election Day, June 23, all polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. There is no voting at the Board of Elections on that day. Precautions to be taken because of covid-19:
• Masks available for all poll workers and voters who do not bring their own.
• Single-use pens for voters to mark their ballots.
• Single-use cotton swabs for voters using touchscreen voting machines.
• Enforced social distancing for all poll workers and voters, including markings or barriers to prevent voters in line from standing too close together.
• Hand sanitizer for voters and poll workers.
• Face shields and gloves for poll workers.
• Protective barriers between poll workers and voters at check-in tables.
• Special sanitation kits at each precinct to ensure poll worker protection and clean tables, voting booths and voting machines throughout the voting process.
• Thorough cleaning of voting sites before and after the election.