Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

BRCC celebrates Adult High graduates

Blue Ridge Community College hosted a graduation ceremony for 20 graduates of the Adult High School and High School Equivalency programs in the Thomas Auditorium on June 9.

The Adult High School program prepares students for higher education and the workforce by helping them complete their high school diploma. The program is offered on a web-based platform with instructor guidance and support. The High School Equivalency program prepares students to earn a North Carolina Community College High School Equivalency Diploma by passing the ETS HiSET or Pearson VUE GED tests. Subjects covered include reading, writing, math, social studies, and science.

The guest speaker was High School Equivalency graduate Leah Parris, who told her own story of perseverance through financial struggles and homelessness. She congratulated her fellow graduates and encouraged them to celebrate personal victories. Parris recently accepted a position with Blue Ridge’s Adult Education department.

Blue Ridge Adult Education and Literacy Coordinator E. Grace Solle performed the presentation of graduates. Diplomas were then conferred by Blue Ridge Vice President for Instruction Kathy Allen, who also provided closing remarks and released the graduates for a reception with families and friends.

“Both of these programs are tremendously successful because of the partnerships we have with both Henderson and Transylvania County Schools and Schenck Job Corps, as well as the support of Blue Ridge staff and faculty,” Allen said. “I applaud you for reaching this milestone.”

The full list of graduates included:

Adult High School
Aaron Alexander Heatherly
William Harris Hilyer

High School Equivalency
Monica Aguilar
Marcela Basto Jaramillo
Diana de Pilar Carvajal Rueda
Gladis Cortes Ojeda
Nelly Cecilia Diaz Sarmiento
Melissa Leigh Dombrowski
Edgar Garrido
Angel Guerra
Nalleli Guzman
Elizabeth Hernandez
Ivannia Artavia Hollingsworth
Celeste Kelly
Cayla Owen
Leah Parris
Javiera Pizarro-Huerta
Dagoberto Sandoval Reyes
Sam Stroup
Alvaro Javier Villamizar Guerrero