Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Current weather in Hendersonville, NC 42.4° Jan 16's Weather
Mostly Cloudy
HI: 45 LOW: 19
Full Forecast via Forecast.io

Be There When Lightning Strikes


Set your text size: A A A

Two candidates in line for Flat Rock seats

FLAT ROCK — Two candidates have emerged for seats that will become vacant this year in Flat Rock.

Related Stories

Albert Gooch is leaning toward a run for the seat now held by Jim Wert. Anne Coletta plans to run for the seat occupied by Dave Bucher.
Coletta, who moved here with her husband, lives on Rhett Drive off Highland Lake Drive. A part-time free-lance technical writer, Coletta was active in the effort opposing Henderson County's proposal to develop the Highland Lake Golf Club property as a soccer complex.
She formed the Friends of Highland Lake and still operates a website that provides news and community information to the area around the lake and golf course.
She said communications is an area that she would like to specialize in, both at the village level and with other municipalities.
Gooch retired in 2004 after 22 years as president of Kanuga Conference Center.
"I've gotten a good bit of urging from any number of people to run and I expect I will," he said.
A graduate of Mississippi College, Gooch spent 13 years as director of admissions at the University of the South, five years as alumni director and five years as a teacher and coach.
Here is an updated list of municipal officers up for election:
Hendersonville City Council

  • Barbara Volk, Mayor, 2013, running
  • Jerry Smith, 2013. Probable.
  • Jeff Collis, 2013, running
  • Also announced: Ralph Freeman

Flat Rock Village Council

  • Ronald Davis, District 1, 2013, not running.
  • David Bucher, District 2, 2013, not running. Anne Coletta running.
  • Jim Wert, District 3, 2013, not running. Albert Gooch running.

Fletcher Town Council

  • William B. Moore, Mayor, 2013. Leaning toward running.
  • Sheila Franklin, District 1, 2013.
  • Eddie Henderson, District 4, 2013. Undecided.

Mills River Town Council

  • Lois Pryor, Mayor Pro Tem, District 2, 2013. Leaning against.
  • Shanon Gonce, District 3, 2013. Undecided.
  • Larry Freeman, District 1, 2013. Running.

Laurel Park Town Council

  • A. Paul Hansen, 2013. Leaning toward running.
  • Dona M. Mennella, 2013. Undecided.