Free Daily Headlines


Set your text size: A A A

ELECTIONS SET: Eight vie for Hendersonville council; Fletcher incumbents unopposed

The field is set for the fall municipal elections in Henderson County led by a crowded field vying for two seats on the Hendersonville City Council and a three-way race for mayor of the county's largest city.

Across the county generally, incumbents chose to seek another term. In Fletcher, incumbent mayor Bill Moore and  council members Sheila Franklin and Eddie Henderson will go back on the board unless someone were to mount a highly unusual write-in campaign. No one filed to oppose them. Filing closed at noon Friday.

The exception to incumbents signing up was Flat Rock, where three incumbents are all retiring and three newcomers have signed up for their seats. That means Sheryl Jamerson, Anne Coletta and Albert Gooch will be the three new Flat Rock Village Council members.

Hendersonville voters on Oct. 8 will narrow the field in a primary election for both the council seats and mayor. On Thursday, Councilman Ron Stephens and former District Court Judge Steve Franks filed for mayor, and two more candidates, Bonnie Wilson and Lynda Erwin, filed for City Council, creating an eight-candidate field.

Mayor pro tem Jeff Collis and Councilman Jerry Smith filed for re-election. Also running are businessman Jeff Miller, former council members Ralph Freeman and Diane Caldwell and Guri Lee Andermann. A primary election will narrow the field to four candidates, who will face off in the Nov. 5 general election.

Meanwhile, two newcomers filed for the Mills River Town Council, joining District 1 incumbent Larry Freeman, who filed for re-election. James Franklin Cantrell and William Frank "Billy" Johnston both filed the District 2 seat currently held by Lois Pryor, who is retiring. District 3 incumbent Shanon Gonce filed for re-election on Thursday.

Filing for the 2013 municipal election closed at noon Friday.

Here is a list of candidates who have for the 2013 election. (I) denotes incumbent.
Hendersonville City Council
Barbara Volk, mayor (I), 2013, filed.
Ron Stephens, filed.

Stephen Franks, filed

Hendersonville City Council

Jerry Smith (I), filed.
Jeff Collis (I), filed.
Ralph Freeman, filed.
Jeff Miller, filed.
Diane Caldwell, filed.
Guri Lee Andermann, filed.

Bonita Jean "Bonnie" Wilson, filed

Lynda Lee Erwin, filed.

Flat Rock Village Council
District 1: Ronald Davis (I), not running.

Sheryl Jamerson, filed.

District 2: David Bucher (I), not running.

Anne Coletta, filed.

District 3: Jim Wert (I), not running.

Albert Gooch, filed.

Fletcher Town Council
William B. Moore, Mayor (I). filed.
District 1: Sheila Franklin (I), filed.
District 4: Eddie Henderson (I), filed.

Mills River Town Council
District 2: Lois Pryor (I), Mayor Pro Tem, not running.
James Franklin Cantrell, filed.
William Frank "Billy" Johnston, filed.
District 3: Shanon Gonce (I) filed.
District 1: Larry Freeman (I), filed.

Laurel Park Town Council
A. Paul Hansen (I), filed.
Dona M. Mennella (I), filed.
Louis Lunardoni Jr., filed.